Chupke Chupke is a classic Hindi comedy film directed by Hrishikesh Mukherjee, and released in 1975. The movie starred an ensemble cast of Dharmendra, Sharmila Tagore, Amitabh Bachchan, Jaya Bachchan, Om Prakash, Asrani, David and Keshto Mukherjee.

The film revolves around a young man named Parimal Tripathi (Dharmendra), a botany professor known for his exceptional skills in the Hindi language. His love for the language leads him to play a prank on his brother-in-law Raghavendra Sharma (Om Prakash), who is a strict Hindi-speaking advocate. Parimal decides to speak in a broken language and take up a job as a driver in Raghavendra’s house, under the name Pyare Mohan Illahabadi.

As Pyare Mohan, Parimal interacts with Raghavendra’s family, which includes his wife (Sharmila Tagore), sister-in-law (Jaya Bachchan) and her husband (Amitabh Bachchan). Pyare Mohan’s wit and charm soon win everyone’s hearts, and he becomes an integral part of the household.

However, things take a hilarious turn when Raghavendra’s friend and fellow advocate, Laxmi Narayan (Asrani), comes to visit. Laxmi Narayan is a stickler for grammar and is known for correcting people’s language. Pyare Mohan’s broken Hindi language puzzles Laxmi Narayan, and he tries his best to correct him, only to be outwitted by Parimal’s clever wordplay.

As the movie progresses, the characters get tangled in a web of misunderstandings, leading to many comical situations. The film’s climax involves a wedding ceremony, where Parimal’s true identity is finally revealed, leading to a series of revelations and laughter.

The movie is known for its witty dialogues, brilliant performances by the cast and charming chemistry between Dharmendra and Sharmila Tagore. The film also features a memorable soundtrack composed by S.D. Burman, with songs like “Ab ke Sajan Sawan Mein” and “Chupke Chupke Chal Re Purbaiya.”

Overall, Chupke Chupke is a timeless classic that has stood the test of time and is still loved by audiences today for its light-hearted humour and impeccable performances.


Dharmendra as Professor Parimal Tripathi / Pyare Mohan Allahbadi

Amitabh Bachchan as Professor Sukumar Sinha / Professor Parimal Tripathi (fake)

Sharmila Tagore as Sulekha Chaturvedi

Jaya Bachchan as Vasudha Kumar

Om Prakash as Former Barrister Raghavendra Kumar Sharma (Raghav)

Usha Kiran as Sumitra Sharma

Lily Chakravarty as Lata Kumar Srivastav

Asrani as Prashant Kumar Srivastav

David Abraham Cheulkar as Haripad Chaturvedi

Keshto Mukherjee as James D’Costa

Vishal Desai (Master Titoo) as Ratna

Amol Sen


3 thoughts on “Chupke Chupke

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: